The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should invest more money in medical research to protect people’s health instead of protecting the environment. I totally disagree with this statement; this following essay will explain my point of view. To begin with, there are more and more diseases have appeared; some of them turned into extremely dangerous diseases that have affected the world heavily. For example, the COVID-19 has struck more than 20 million people and taken 700000 lives since the end of 2019. Therefore, the government should allocate money for medical research in order to prevent the spreading of many types of viruses and prepare to deal with diseases that can break out in the future. Meanwhile, the government should also use the national budgets to protect the environment because the environment is always directly related to people’s health. For instances, polluted air can cause many breathing issues so that the government should invest in the use of green energy instead of fossil fuels. Whereas, polluted water is causing serious diseases such as diarrhea so there is a demand to spend money on keeping the water supply clean. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that healthcare and medical research are significantly essential and a tremendous amount of money should be spent on that, I do not agree that all the money should be funded to it and suggest that the government should equal the state budgets in order that it can spend on relating issues such as protect the environment.