In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. Why might be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some countries, renting is often preferred over buying a house due to various reasons that can be viewed as positive or negative, depending on the perspective of individuals and the economy. It is my belief that this situation is a positive one. Firstly, the cost of homeownership is ridiculously high, as this includes a down payment and mortgage payments as well as other expenses like taxes or renovating. This is in contrast to the smaller and predictable monthly payments of renting. In fact, renting a home is not as much of a liability as owning a house. For example, renting a home in New York City is much more affordable than owning due to overpopulation. Secondly, renting a house promotes freedom in lifestyle and mobility in accommodation. Renting provides the flexibility to move for a new job, a change in family size, or simply a desire for a different neighbourhood without the significant hassle and cost of selling a property. Furthermore, renters are not responsible for maintenance, landscaping, or major repairs. The landlord handles these tasks, which can be a major benefit for people with busy schedules or those who simply prefer to have less responsibility. In conclusion, while homeownership has a lot of instability and can build personal wealth, renting offers people greater financial and personal flexibility that can lead to a society that is more educated on financial management.