Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and societies To what extent do you agree?

Most society members say that social media such as Facebook has negative impacts on individuals and the public. I strongly agree that platforms like Facebook and Instagram affect lots of lives negatively and have raised an alarming issue. To begin with, Facebook and Instagram have been the biggest sharing platforms with millions of active users, generating photos and videos of everyday events from across the world. Therefore, the flow of pieces of information has been easy since the birth of these media, making people aware of social or personal circumstances from others wherever and whenever. For instance, many have become aware of issues happening around whether critical or ordinary. Thus, the rising importance of every news and also encouraging people to take action to help solve issues, resulted in society uniting to face challenges together. On the other hand, the downside of the fast information distribution cannot be denied, since it has taken a toll on individuals' lives with the term we know today as "FOMO" or Fear Of Missing Out. Moreover, the phenomenon has made people afraid to miss out on recent events or trends shared by the masses, resulting in the rise of anxiety and panic attack cases. Mostly, the ones impacted are teens or adults who are active on social media, therefore, become a potentially alarming issue that we have today in the 21st century. In conclusion, though social media is a gift from the technological advances that we have experienced today, the disadvantages must not be ignored since it affects the lives of many and more in the future.