Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The new-found focus on the benefits of healthy life in recent years has created pressure on governmental bodies to look for different schemes in order to increase the levels of public health. In order to achieve this lofty goal, some believe that increasing sports facilities will suffice, while others state that other complementary actions must be taken. I agree with the latter, and in this essay, I will try to discuss both of these points of view, reason my stance and draw a conclusion based on them. On the one hand, some experts express that only raising the number of sports facilities is enough and people will be encouraged to use them if they are readily available near them. For instance, I have heard of plans to construct a football court in every neighbourhood which I don't believe can be applicable for several reasons such as budget, upkeep costs, and so on. Hence, this course of action does not seem to be practical. On the other hand, healthy life is a multi-aspect phenomenon. First, there are more fundamental needs that must be met if one's aim is to be healthy. As an example, people should have access to healthy food, a non-polluted environment, and a clean, sustainable way of life. Therefore, governments should aim to provide these conditions first. Second, the existence of a nearby gym or stadium is not going to encourage people to use it. For example, basic education about the importance of having a healthy life style must be taught in every school to emphasize how a person should live and respect their body. Subsequently, a group at Stanford University in the USA has shown that the combined result of public education and creating a culture of physical activity almost halved the costs related to the treatment of diseases that arise due to high body weight. Thus, it is apparent that all the seven heads of this modern "Hydra" should be assaulted at once if one wants to achieve satisfactory results. To conclude, although some state that a higher number of public sports facilities is enough to raise the health level of society, I believe and reasoned that in order to achieve this goal, other basic needs such as a clean environment, and higher levels of public health awareness must be attained. As far as I'm concerned, I have observed higher attention from governmental bodies to public health in the last decades, so I can only hope that the future will be brighter than now.