Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, many traffic accidents were caused by young drivers. This has led to a lot proposing that the optimum way to improve such a phenomenon is by increasing the minimum legal age for driving. In this essay, I will provide reasons why I think this is useful, but there are also other ways that can alleviate the problem. To commence with, raising the minimum driving age can reduce the number of impulsive young drivers. For example, in Thailand and USA, younger drivers aged around 18 to 23 tend to commit speeding. As many youngsters are in favour of excitement, they drive at a fast speed or trespass on other cars on narrow roads, resulting in car accidents. By increasing the minimum legal age, young drivers in pursuit of fast and risky driving can be filtered out, hence creating a safer environment for all road users. Therefore, increasing the minimum legal age is a good way to improve road safety. However, I believe that there are more ways to improve road safety. Firstly, road safety education has to be strengthened at schools. By guiding and inculcating students with correct safety rules and regulations on roads, individuals will learn the importance of driving carefully and safely, hence enabling them in becoming safer drivers on roads in the future. Secondly, the governments can rise the standards for obtaining a driving license. For example, individuals have to participate in more practical and written tests before getting a license, in order to ensure them having sufficient and correct knowledge and skills to drive. To conclude, apart from increasing the minimum age for driving, strengthening road - safety education and raising the standards for obtaining a driving license are believed to be useful in improving road safety as well.