Many young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects both on society and young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that shopping malls are gaining in popularity among young people these days. Some, however, argue that this trend will harm these people and ultimately, our society. I agree with this assertion to a large extent even though I believe that such a trend has its own upsides. To start, it is important to recognize how young people ’s proclivity towards shopping at malls can be advantageous. Most young people go shopping after school or at the weekends to take a break from their daily routine. Their study schedule can sometimes be hectic, leaving little room for entertainment, and shopping can provide them with a necessary escape. This is also ideal for business owners as it can boost their sales once their products get seen by more customers. Even if businesses do not make much revenue from sales to teenagers, their brand and, by extension, their products, will receive more recognition seeing as it is common among young people to talk about what they see on sale. Few marketing strategies are as effective as word of mouth. That said, I share the view that the rising popularity of shopping among young people is a rather undesirable development. First of all, too much time spent at shopping malls can make one materialistic, and young people are no exception. That is, a teenager or a child surrounded by a wide array of tempting products cannot help but wonder if he or she can have it all one day. This desire will eventually turn into an obsession - to own as many things as possible. It is even more so when they see other people afford those things, but they cannot. Eventually, this feeling will give way to materialism, which is measuring everything in monetary terms. The most profound effect of it, on a societal level, would be the creation of a culture of people driven by materialism, which is a modern scourge seen in developed nations like the USA. In conclusion, while some benefits can be attributed to the growing popularity of shopping malls among young people, I believe the harmful effects both on youngsters and society are more pronounced.