Today, people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no denying that the advertising industry has prospered in recent decades and has permeated many aspects of everyday life, including preferences. However, from my point of view, the growth of the advertising industry is anything but positive, as it has led to a distortion of reality and consumer over-consumption. My biggest fear is that advertisements lead people to misjudge the importance of the most important things in their lives. People tend to focus on material possessions and physical attractiveness while neglecting the importance of other positive attributes. A good example of this is the advertising campaigns run by cosmetic brands. They often promote physical attractiveness as essential for a healthy relationship, even though experts have long known that reliability and compassion are more effective in building personal relationships. This well-known truth would probably be more widely accepted if marketing messages didn’t overstate the importance of physical appearance. Another reason I’m against it is consumerism. Today’s marketers have access to new customer insights and cutting-edge technical tools to lure viewers into making impulse purchases. For example, TikTok’s detection feature can identify users’ preferences and hobbies based on what they’re searching for in their content, and then prompt them with appropriate buying suggestions that accurately drive their urge to buy. This has resulted in impulsive buying that leads not only to personal debt but excessive waste that pollutes the environment because more unwanted, out-of-date items would be thrown away. It’s a perfect example of why advertising campaigns are damaging at both the individual and societal levels. To sum up, I see advertising as a handicap because it distorts people’s perception of life and encourages over-consumption. That’s why governments should pass stricter laws to contain the growth of advertising until the problems mentioned above are fully resolved.