Smoking should be banned in public places because it not only harms the smokers, but also those who are nearby. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has always been a topic of discussion and now is no different as there is an ongoing debate on whether smoking should be banned in public spaces as its harmful to not only the smoker but the public as well. This essay will discuss my reasoning as to why I agree with the ban. To begin with, smoking kills. To elaborate smoking causes health problems such as breathing difficulties which eventually leads to lung cancer and heart disease. Additionally, it gives the smoker a worse appearance, for example, yellow hands, rotting teeth and bad breath causing self-esteem issues as the public might not want to interact with said person. Secondly, smoking in public areas can cause second-hand uptake and risks public health as people who inhale smoke around them can also be at risk of lung and heart disease which is unfair as they make the conscious decision to not pick up the habit. Furthermore, it can also trigger things for instance a asthma attack increasing the risk of death by tenfold. On the other hand, I understand that due to the law, we have the freedom of choice because of that I am not encouraging the authorities to dictate whether they can control how many packs of cigarettes a person buys just where they choose to light one up. To conclude, in my opinion, banning smoking in public areas shouldn't be up for discussion as the benefits outweigh the risk and public health should matter more than individuals.