Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Over the years, different types of wild animals are on the verge of becoming depleted while others are almost dying out. The two main reasons for this trend are overexploitation of their natural habitat and illegal hunting, However we can solve these problems with the help of technology and regulations. Firstly, Human activity is a major cause of the destruction of their habitat. Human civilization needs more and more land for agriculture, house building and industrial purposes due to which they keep cutting trees down which leads to deforestation and the animals move from one place to another where some of them die in the process. For this reason, national parks pave the way for the construction of infrastructure is inevitable despite contributing to the displacement of wildlife creatures and reducing the food available to survive which increases the chances of animals dying out. For,example the world's largest bat population has been affected by cutting down trees to pave the way for the construction of a road. Nevertheless, to counteract the worldwide fund for nature can help by instructing the member countries to set aside national reserves where human activities are prohibited. Secondly, poaching for selfish reasons is a major contributing factor to the extinction of these beautiful creatures. Some individuals believe in myths that creatures have medicinal, aphrodisiac and religious values. Thence, prompting them to acquire this scarce resource to satisfy heart desires. For example, an elephant tusk is believed to cure mental illness. Hence, the killing will contribute to the extinction of wildlife. On the other hand, tackling this problem requires both individual and government efforts. They can help in raising awareness against the killing of fauna for unproven reasons and encourage poachers to seek professional help. By doing so, different species will be saved. To sum up, while degrading forests and illegal hunting negatively affect the animal Kingdom nonetheless, this can be reversed by creating national reserves and raising awareness.