An increasing number of people want to buy clothes, shoes, and other items produced by famous international brands. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is a common practice that most people tend to buy internationally branded items compared to other local brands because of familiarity and other reasons. I think it’s neither good practice nor bad practice because the quality of a product varies in different brands. I will further explain my opinion in the below essay. Many people buy such international brands mainly because they believe the products manufactured in some developed countries are resilient and trustworthy compared to other local brands. It’s also general psychology that people easily like things which are hyped and advertised to be luxurious. Hence, such practices are increasing. Moreover, in some,cases this is true as well because some locally manufactured products cannot meet the quality some international brands provide. Hence, people trust internationally branded products commonly. This is neither a good practice nor a bad practice because the quality of a product differs from brand to brand. There are some local brands which provide better quality than international brands and also some internationally branded products promises better performance than other. For example, all smart mobiles manufactured by the company ‘Apple’ are expensive, but,still more people buy those phones because of their performance and quality. Likewise, when it comes to clothing or any other item, there are better shops which sell high- quality cotton dresses compared to established stores like H&M, Gap, etc. Therefore, I believe we cannot generalize the product quality based on brand. In conclusion, although international brands provide better quality and durability in most cases, some local brands also provide better quality products in some brands. Hence, we should give preference to the quality of the product irrespective of the brand and buy things which justify the price and quality promised.