Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Computer implications in education have achieved a great deal of public attention in recent years. Although certain individuals believe that using computers for educational purposes can lead to negative impacts, I would personally argue that it may offer broad-based benefits. There are several reasons why the trend may do more harm than good. First, studying on the computer is coming at the expense of distractions, such as video games or short clips on youtube, leading to poor academic performance. In fact, students can even pretend they are listening to teachers lecturing in an online class while they are actually watching movies or doing something else. Second, spending too much time on the screen can be harmful to children's health in many different ways. For example, if a child is addicted to video games, he or she will be susceptible to a variety of health issues, including myopia and obesity due to physical inactivity. On the other hand, I believe this growing trend ensures learners achieve greater academic goals. In today's world, students can have access to a much wider range of knowledge, even from other countries, thanks to computers. For instance, if a Vietnamese student is keen on psychology, she or he will be now able to register for online courses on the Internet delivered by prominent psychologists from America or any other developed country. In addition, online studying can save students from unnecessary travelling, especially for those who are very far from school. In fact, even having an extra half hour of time can make a big difference in improving mental capacity and productivity if they allocate it for exercise or other physical activity. To summarize, both views appear reasonable to a certain extent. In my opinion, computers should be encouraged to use more in education since they are playing pivotal roles in learners' academic performance.