Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that males and females possess distinctive qualities so that some jobs suit men better whilst others tailor to women. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. This essay will discuss my viewpoint with detailed reasons and relevant examples. First of all, no intelligence is proven to be gender specific. In the past, men were found to be outnumbering women in certain fields, notably the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) subjects. one that suggests men are more suitable for performing STEM-related jobs than women due to the stereotypical thinking about the disparity in certain types of intelligence, such as logical-mathematical intelligence. But over time, women have demonstrated their intellectual capability and strength in the aforementioned fields, such as Madame Curie, Annie Easley, Zhenyi Wang, and Youyou Tu. It can be inferred that intelligence is a gender-natural concept, and that men and women can do equally well in the seemingly manly fields. Secondly, with the development of machines, men's advantages in physical strength will gradually disappear, which means that heavy physical work that is only suitable for men will gradually disappear. For example, miners, construction workers, farmers, etc. These jobs will be replaced by machines and robots in the near future. Therefore, jobs that are only suitable for men will gradually decrease and be replaced by jobs that are suitable for both genders, such as computer programmers. Thirdly, men can work as patiently as women. It is a common stereotype that most men are more irritated than women. Therefore, men are not suitable for jobs that require patience, such as nurses. In fact, lack of patience is not caused by men ’s innate qualities. It is found to be closely related to early childhood education and family influence. Most parents do not treat boys with the same tenderness as girls when they educate their children. As a consequence, from a very young age, they seem to become more irritable than women. With the improvement of educational concepts, this situation has changed. According to statistics, the number of male nurses has risen steadily since 1970. This proves that men are capable of jobs that require patience. Given that intelligence is a gender-neutral concept, jobs that require physical strength will be gradually replaced by machines, and more men have taken occupations that require a high level of patience, it can be concluded that men and women are equally capable of performing any jobs. Hence, fixating on the belief that gender determines the suitability of occupations does not seem to be appropriate.