You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree? Write at least 250 words.

Over the last two or three decades, the eating habits of people all over the world have changed dramatically due to major advances in lifestyles. As a result, a growing number of the population are becoming fat and not taking nutritional food in some advanced countries. It is argued by many that the problem of obesity can be reduced by imposing a tax on fast food items. I disagree with this point of view because people are responsible for taking care of their health and maintaining good eating habits. To start with, it is well said that health is everything and one should understand its worth. It is totally up to the individuals what to eat or what not because at least adults are aware of the consequences of having healthy and nutritional meals. For instance, if a person is obese or malnutritional, he will be advised by a doctor not to eat such items, and if the person is really worried about his well-being, he will obey the instructions doesn't matter how cheap or expensive the unhealthy food is. Hence, it is people's own choice to maintain food habits, and if they are concerned about their physical and mental health, they will sacrifice otherwise not. Additionally, a cost on junk food items cannot be helpful in the decline of their intake because people who are addicted to fast food items will be ready to pay some extra money for their taste. In addition, people prefer eating fast food when they have a busy schedule and do not have time to prepare the food. So they avoid their well-being and opt for cheap and easy options. Therefore, imposing a tax on such food items cannot change the mindset of the public about their own health. To conclude, I disagree with the point that the issue of obesity and lack of nutrition among people can be tackled by imposing a tax on packaged food whereas it is their own perspective whether to take care of their health or not. Also, lack of time is one of the main reasons behind consuming these food items, so it cannot be solved by taking this action.