The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the phenomenon that more and more people become overweight is ubiquitous and this increases the pressure on the medical system since they need to tackle a wide range of diseases caused by obesity. Therefore, a group of people argue that settling more PE lessons in the school is the most efficient weight to solve this problem. In my opinion, I agree with this idea. Generally, puberty is the best period to prevent obesity from happening because teenagers are more energetic than adults so they can easily lose weight through exercise. Hence, letting students take more physical education lessons in school can definitely help them to control their weight, the more exercise they do, the more calories they can burn. Moreover, making exercise a habit from an early age can have a profound impact, so when they grow up, they will do exercise by osmosis. For instance, recent research done by a university shows that individuals who exercise from a young age have only a 10% chance of becoming obese. On the other hand, only introducing more physical education classes in the school is not enough, since this can not affect people who already graduated from school and therefore, the government should take more responsibility on increase people ’s awareness of staying fit and healthy. This can be done in several ways including giving public speaking and installing more facilities for people to do exercise in public parks. Besides, a healthy and balanced diet is also important, so the government should also release some leaflets or advertisements about balance diet so that people can consciously live a healthy lifestyle. In a nutshell, I think it is imperative to have more physical education classes in the school in order to decrease the portion of overweight. Meanwhile, a healthy diet and lifestyle are also indispensable.