In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problem as a result of eating to much fast food. It is neccesary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Fast food is very common in almost all countries and its demand is consistently increasing. In some,nations a large number of people are becoming unfit due to excessive consumption of junk food. I agree that increasing taxes on this category of food will definitely reduce the demand, I also think at a certain point people will not stop eating it because they are addicted to it. The prime factor responsible, for society consuming fast food is because it is very cheap and easily available in the market. On average out of 10 people 8 eat these kinds of food every day and harms their digestive system as well as their heart. Imposing taxes on these kinds of food is a great initiative to stop them from consuming it. Moreover, the public will also spend the same money on fruits or healthy food, which as a result protects them from chronic diseases. For instance, in some cities of,India the ruling authorities have increased tax rates by 18% on all categories of junk food, due to which demand has significantly reduced. However, it is an undeniable fact that addiction to anything is very harmful to each individual, imposing higher taxes will definitely reduce the sale of junk food but,still people will eat it because here money is not the concern. For instance, society is addicted to alcohol which is very expensive but still thousands of people consume it and they know it will directly harm them still demand is very high, similarly this is the same situation with junk food. Thus the government should permanently ban this category of food in their countries and provide other business opportunities to junk food sellers, this is the only possible solution to protect people. In a nutshell, increasing the price of junk food will not stop people from eating it, because people are addicted to it. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the government to immediately ban it and promote healthy lifestyle campaigns to change the mindset of society.