Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space design insted of seperate rooms. Do the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

In recent years, more offices have started to create open-plan designs instead of separate rooms. While it has some beneficial sides, the downsides totally outweigh them. Working in an open-plan environment has a positive effect on employees' mood. It creates a good atmosphere in the office as well as improves the relationship between staff members, which might lead to better performance. For example, there is evidence which was taken from recent research, which has shown that people's brain works better when people are in a positive mood. Thus, the right working vibe is created by working in an open space. However, working in an open-plan place has two main downsides. First, workers will not have their own space separated from others. In other words, rooms will not be provided for workers, so they will struggle with noise coming outside, and they may have problems with concentration. Secondly, having your own working room is better, because employers will have the opportunity to keep essential documents or private objects in a safe place. It will reduce the number of small robberies or the loss of some documents. It's recommended for companies, therefore, to avoid using open-plan workplaces, in order to provide a more enjoyable workplace for their professionals. In conclusion, while open-space design can provide a better atmosphere and develop relationships among staff, this design limits staff from having a personal room to keep valuable items, also their concentration will fall because of noise. It's better for companies to choose separate rooms rather than an open-plan workplace.