In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

All around the world, people who used to live in the countryside are moving to the city. That makes the rural population dramatically decrease. I believe that it is not a positive development because countryside inhabitants are important to the trade and production of the country, and due to the overcrowding of cities. Since time immemorial, rural life has been a primordial thing for the correct development of countries. Nowadays, the lack of workers in rural zones is worrying because people are needed to do tasks like agricultural production and livestock care. Without the primary sector, the other two would not be able to work correctly. For example, in Spain, there is a lack of rural individuals, and a study made by the University of Salamanca states that the GDP has decreased by 10% in the last 10 years. In addition, since this problem occurs, cities are overpopulated, which is a huge problem for the quality of life in these urban areas. Issues such as expensive rents for small apartments or the important production or pollution are causing increasing concern among the individuals who live in those areas. Also, a big part of the urban population affirms having mental health problems since they live in cities. For instance, a survey made by the newspaper ABC says that 80% of countryside inhabitants who have moved to the city criticise the quality of life as a result of the high prices. To conclude, I think that moving from rural zones to the urban ones massively is not a good idea because people are needed in the rural areas in order to maintain a well-distributed population and ensure the country's proper functioning.