The internet has made traditional libraries unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss giving examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some people think that technology such as the Internet can replace traditional libraries and books for that matter. I strongly agree with this notion. To begin with, the internet has been a necessity especially during the pandemic and up to this day for students. Since students are forced to stay at home, almost every household should have access to the Internet for continued learning. Schoolwork and classes are done online and so no need for face-to-face encounters which can be both beneficial for students and teachers in terms of transportation. In addition, fewer books and other printed reading materials mean a more healthy environment because fewer trees are needed to be cut down for paper production. It is a worldwide phenomenon that we have a climate change to address which affects every citizen of the world. It is thereby important to realize as well that by controlling the production of reading materials, we can help in preventing more damage to the environment. Lastly, the government can save funds by choosing not to build public libraries. Instead, the budget can be allocated to more important sectors like health. We are still in the pandemic era and Covid-19 is still out there unresolved. As a country, we need to help fellow countries in developing treatments and vaccines to eradicate this deadly disease. Further studies are still to be undertaken and we should be doing our share in this endeavour as well. In conclusion, the internet has contributed a lot to the community specifically for education, for the environment and for the government's budget allotment.