Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Presently, there has been a growing concern about the time sons and daughters spend on their mobile gadgets. Whilst psychologists claim that this will have an adverse effect on them, others hold a diverse perspective. However, I am of the stance that this phenomenon promises social as well as academic benefits. In the following lines, the reasons for this new habit and its impacts will be thoroughly elaborated. To commence with, there are a number of reasons that make future generations prefer spending more time on their mobiles. Since nearly all portable devices are connected to the Internet, young people, now, have access to an unlimited amount of information. In addition to that, some social media platforms help young students communicate together on them. For example, a recent study conducted by Egyptian students at Cairo University revealed that most students in Egypt have Facebook accounts that they use to chat with their peers and remain aware of their country’s affairs. Thus, what can be deduced is that the chief rationale behind spending a great amount of time on smartphones is the Internet and its merits. Nevertheless, using phones for a long time is seen by many as a positive development. When pupils spend their time learning on their mobiles, they will progress academically. For instance, YouTube has numerous channels that facilitate learning and make language acquisition simpler. Furthermore, they can reach their tutors instantly by sending them messages. Hence, what can be inferred is that without cellular devices, challenging academic subjects would have been monotonous. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that the Internet is what makes young men and women use their mobile gadgets excessively. In my view, guardians should encourage their offspring to rely on mobile phones, but with parental guidance.