Some people think that history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Whether or not we should learn the past has been a topic of concern to many. While some may question the importance of studying the past, I believe it can equip us with a perspective to better comprehend today's life. Those who claim that history has nothing or little to tell us often see it as a subject that is rarely applied at present. This is because they think learning past records is equal to memorizing dates, names, and facts, which are of less practical value in everyday life or for the future than knowledge of science and technology. In addition,they may regard learning this kind of subject as a waste of time since historical events can be interpreted in different ways, which makes the subject less objective. However,I do believe to know and understand important events and experiences in the past is absolutely necessary, even though the results of historical study are not as visible as or less immediate than those of other fields of study. On the one hand, to know the past is to know the present.Citizens should learn local history since it informs national identity. Information on the state or the region helps them stay connected to their roots and learn to appreciate the contribution of their ancestors. In this way, they are more likely to grow into proud citizens. For instance, a man who is proud of his or her own native culture can be strong in adversity. If the sense of identity were lost, problems would follow, such as the loss of initiative in the international arena. On the other hand, at a time when so much is happening to change the way folks work and live, the way individuals relate to one another, and the way every country links to the rest of the world, gaining more knowledge and a better understanding of world history is the key. This is due to the fact that the nation's past teaches us what is distinctive about a particular land, whilst world development helps folks think about the characteristics that all humanity embraces. Therefore, studying the past experience of home and abroad broaden horizons, which is the key to driving a person and a nation to be more involved in international affairs. To conclude, despite the voices against the study of history,I believe it offers a unique approach to understanding the present by helping people and nations to maintain cultural identity and participate in the solution of global issues.