In spite of the advances in medicine, many people around the world still die of easily preventable diseases. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Over the past few decades, there is a tremendous increase in the number of people questioning modern medicine's efficiency. One of the main reasons for this worrying trend is due to the fact that some essential treatments are pricy. However, there are solutions readily available to tackle this problematic issue, such as financial aid from governments. To begin, there is an argument to be made that it has always been challenging for people, especially the poor, to afford medical care, simply because they are extremely expensive. For example, the average visit to a doctor in the USA usually cost 100-300 dollars, while the minimum wage per hour is merely 7 dollars. For this reason, it is evident that innovations alone could not enhance the survival rate of a person, other factors such as money also play a significant part in it. What is more, an unjustified salary of health care providers also results in a shortage of workers in the fields, allowing more room for mistakes which may lead to the death of the patients. This being the case, it can be assumed that if people are not in a position to take advantage of it, any breakthrough is meaningless. In order to resolve this troubling issue, one viable solution would be for governments to partially subsidize hospital bills for the people. For example, in Thailand, there is a campaign where patients only respond for half of the price and the other half will be covered by the states, ensuring citizens obtain necessary medical attention. Therefore, it is clear that the government can greatly reduce such incidents by enforcing laws or policies, as this could be sustainably done. Furthermore, other forms of support such as scholarships or salary raise could encourage people to attend medical schools, increasing the number of medical staff in the workforce. With this in mind, there is no doubt that people stand a better chance of recovering if governments step up and financially support them. In conclusion, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that money is one of the major explanations as to why some basic illnesses can still be life-threatening. However, it is still possible to turn the tide if the government come forward with plans aiming to free citizens from financial burdens.