Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree

It is a common argument on whether geriatric should continue working if capable. In my view, I agree with them because it keeps them fit and they can fend for themselves. This would be discussed in detail in the next paragraphs. Firstly, I believe if elderly people work it would help them to stay healthy. It is a stage in their life that they need to exercise briskly rather than staying in one place doing nothing which may cause health problems like obesity due to their sedentary lifestyle. Doing activities like washing clothing, and picking fruits in the garden can help them exercise their back muscles which may prevent stiffness, a medical condition that is very common among seniors. Research carried out in South Africa Teaching Hospital indicates that 40% of the pensioners are being managed for chronic back, a disease that could have been prevented if they were still in the labour force. Hence, the need to continue working in old age. Secondly, If elders are allowed to work they will be able to cater for their basic needs. Most children nowadays do not look after their parents because they felt they have their own responsibility and cannot support them with money. Furthermore, most of our retirees are yet to receive their gratuity from the government and they need to make both ends meet in other to survive. As a result, they need to engage in petty trading that could bring money into their pockets. To conclude, without an iota of,doubt I believe elders should continue working because of the vast health-related effects it has on their body system and the income it would also generate while waiting for the federal or state government to pay their gratuity to avoid going from house to house begging for food.