Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that people's dressing sense is good enough to judge their culture and character. I disagree with this statement because we cannot wholly rely on their clothing to know their background. Several other factors contribute to the conclusion. Firstly, with the help of globalization and technological advancement, people have access to various cultures and trends worldwide. They are attracted by the dressing senses of people from different cultures through social media and can purchase them online anywhere. Also, with the tremendous growth of multinational companies, more individuals can work with colleagues from different backgrounds and follow them when selecting clothes. For instance, an Asian citizen working for a Western corporation prefers Western clothes during co-worker gatherings. These trends of clothing choices do not reflect the particular person's culture or character. Secondly, people wear clothes suitable for the occasion, which may only sometimes be their choice. They may wear it based on guidelines or any commonly followed dressing trends. For example, when they commute to work, the workplace may have restrictions on what they wear or a uniform to wear, which they must follow regardless of what they wish. Another instance is when they attend a themed or beach party, they must stick with the theme, even though they do not like it. These instances do not reveal their personality or background, as these are not their choices. In conclusion, people are influenced by various factors when selecting their clothes in the globalized, technologically advanced world, and they are sometimes forced to wear a particular type of cloth. Hence, it is impossible to determine a person's culture or character solely based on what they wear.