Parents are the best teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

Educating children is important for obvious reasons, and some people believe parents are the greatest teachers. I agree with the given view as long as parents are caring, intelligent and responsible. Parents can be the most important people in children ’s lives if they are good at parenting as a whole. To be specific, parents can teach their children the most essential life lessons if they become role models or if they make a positive contribution to a child’s development. In other words, in a family where both parents manage to nurture a child responsibly and intelligently, children are less likely to look for guidance from other people. For example, it should also be mentioned that parents generally spend more time with a child, meaning their influence is not as limited as that of school teachers. Although parents can and must be the best teachers, there are cases when children do not consider their mothers and dads to be the best options for them. Put simply, some families are dysfunctional, which makes a home the worst place to be in. Parents in such circumstances may be violent, irresponsible and narrow-minded. Obviously, such individuals cannot teach children the way they should be taught. For instance, from this perspective, it is clear why some children consider their grandparents, relatives or friends as more influential people in their lives. In conclusion, even though I do agree that parents are the best source of education for children, there are particular conditions under which parents ’ influence can be considered successful or unsuccessful.