In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, new technologies have come to health care leading to people living longer. There is a debate about whether elderly people create problems for governments or not. Personally, it is beneficial to have more elderly in society to teach and train the younger generation of people. To start with, old people have a considerable amount of experience that is useful for youngsters. The Elderly’s long careers show that they are skilled, so they can share their experience, teach their skill, and give advice to a new generation of people. Therefore, it would be beneficial to have elderly people as mentors in the workplace teaching young people to work effectively. However, elderly people have terrible health, which suggests that they are not capable of working hard, and governments have to pay their health care costs. In contrast, nowadays, health care has been improved more than before to cure and make them healthy; the elderly can take good health care and maintain their fitness. They can still work and use their experience and skill to train new workers. This suggests that health is not a problem for elderly people even though they have to take health care frequently. This confirms that having more elderly people's advantages outweighs the disadvantages. In conclusion, it is certain that having more elderly people in society has more advantages than disadvantages. Elderly people are experienced and skilled, so it would be advantageous and useful if they teach their skills or give advice to young people to work effectively. However, the elderly may have health problems which cost the government money, but the improvement in health care shows that they can maintain their health to be healthy. This suggests that terrible health is not the problem since health care is good these days.