“In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?”

Since modern advancements have been made in the transportation segment, there are many public transports that support the citizens' life. Therefore, the government encourage their nation to use public transport rather than owning a private vehicle, and this policy clearly has both positive and negative value. This essay will discuss whether the benefits of this policy exceed the downsides, and in my own perspective, the benefits outweigh them. To start with, the encouragement of using commuter services might not successfully persuade all of the citizens. There are several reasons, such as lack of privacy, no specific stops of the destinations, noisiness, and differences in the timing schedules between the public transport and the commuter. For example, it can be uncomfortable for the commuter when the public vehicle is full of crowds when personal space no longer exists in those times, it is also increasing the possibility of crime. However, this persuasion has many advantages as well. With the promotion of public transport, the number of private vehicles in the roadway can be diminished. In some big cities with too many traffic jams due to excessive motor vehicles like Jakarta, this policy helps its crowd to maintain a safer and more comfortable life. Employees and students will no longer be trapped in traffic jams and ended up being late. Public transport is also low-cost transportation, supporting people who cannot afford to buy their own private vehicles. Moreover, some of the disadvantages of using communal transportation can be covered with certain actions, for instance, using earphones while commuting and trying to manage time according to the timing of the public transport, since they rarely operate off schedule. In conclusion, the encouragement of using communal transportation gives more convenience, especially in economic and social aspects. Although there are several drawbacks, they can be overcome by particular effort.