Some people say it is improtant to keep your home and your work place tidy, with everything organised and in the correct place. write an essay and give your opinion.

Some argue that it is essential to keep one's home and workplace clean, tidy and organised. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with this opinion as decluttering can increase effective use of time and how the state of one's workplace reflects their inner thoughts. Having a system in place will lead to better time management as people will have to spend less time trying to find the item they are looking for. This is because if an object is in the same place, the finder will grab the item without thinking. A scientific study, done by the University of Oxford, supports this phenomenon as the muscle memory and proprioception components in the cerebellum automatically grab the item, the subject is looking for without conscious effort. This proves if a logical system is in place, then finding the correct object will take mere seconds rather than hours. Furthermore, the state of one's workplace affects the state of one's mind. This is because if people have disorganised thoughts, this will not only show in their job but also in their environment as cluttered thoughts lead to cluttered actions, which includes having a structure in place for each and every item. This is proven by the discovery made by the scientist that the external environment has an impact on one's own physiology. For instance, engaging in 'power poses' will decrease cortisol levels which will decrease stress. This proves that the world around us has an impact on our physiology and there is a negative feedback loop at work, where having a cluttered space will lead to a cluttered mind and that cluttered mind will lead to a bigger cluttered space. But on the other hand, if one is familiar with their untidy work area then cleaning their workplace will become irrelevant as they are able to find objects with ease. For example, a teenager has an untidy room but he knows where everything is. One day, his mother cleans his whole room and when the son returns, he is unable to locate any piece that he is looking for as the environment became unfamiliar to him, even though the room belongs to him. This shows that some people are able to perform in these disorganised spaces more effectively, therefore clearing their space will not only be a waste of life now but it will also be a waste of an hour in the future when they are trying to find the same object. In conclusion, I believe having a logical structure in place will ensure better use of the day and it can even help to declutter one's own way of thinking. Even though in some instances it is better to leave one's area unclean, I still believe that organisation is beneficial for most people.