Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the past, employees had to hold business meetings and do training programs at the company’s premises. Nowadays, most of them are happening on online platforms. Despite losing the personal bonds between the staff, I will argue that it will be more beneficial for employees if business meetings and trainings take place online on the grounds that they will make more time for their family, as well as being positive for the environment. One clear disadvantage of conducting meetings and trainings online is that it will restrict coworkers from forming interpersonal relationships with each other. This is because they will have less time to communicate and form friendship bonds than when they attend a meeting in person. For instance, they can socialize more after these meetings over a cup of coffee or a sip of drink. By contrast, coworkers do not have such a socializing moment with each other if the meeting takes place online. However, there are two key advantages of online meetings and trainings. Firstly, this will enable employees with family responsibilities to have a balance between their work and life. Their time would not waste commuting and attending these programs, instead they can spend it taking care of their children. As a result, the staff will have a boost of morale and spirit, which can have positive implications and motivation toward the job. Hence, online meetings enable personnel to save valuable time and spend it with family and friends. Secondly, conducting meetings online has environmental benefits. Online platforms reduce using vehicles as transportation means, and consequently less carbon would be emitted into the air. During covid pandemic, for example, there was a significant decline in the level of carbon emissions and air pollution due to the fact that most people were obliged to work from home. The more we work remotely online, the better it will be for the environment. In conclusion, while online meetings and trainings sacrifice essential elements of human interaction for a more efficient and utilitarian process, I believe that there are merits to it since it provides staff with more valuable time to be spent with their family, in addition to being crucial for the environment.