Some people think watching television every day is bad for children. Others think it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The discussion about how watching television programmes could impact on children has heated up recently. Some people are against this activity, whereas others are for it. As far as I am concerned, the advantages of watching TV undoubtedly outweigh its disadvantages There are two reasons why some people claim it is detrimental for children to watch television every day. First, it is widely acknowledged that too much screen time does harm to children ’s eyesight. Scientific studies suggest that children should not be glued to television. Additionally, children's psychological health might be impaired due to exposure to unsuitable contents. For example, violence and drug abuse are often shown in some films Children who lack discipline or close supervision easily become addicted to the virtual world and might adopt an impractical outlook upon life, which has an adverse influence on their well-being. However, watching television in fact can be informative and educational for children. To begin with, watching news is an efficient way to know what is happening around the world Saying no to television is a veto on getting informed. Also, TV shows like National Geographic and Animal World satisfy their curiosity and develop their creativity. Therefore, what matters most is being selective about what to watch and how. Last but not least, it can be quality time for both parents and children instead of a waste of time. In conclusion, although there might be some health risks for younger generation to watch television for too long and too often I still believe that it is a blessing rather than a curse cartoons, films and a large number of programmes do enrich their life in many ways.