In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Nowadays, the world’s different countries have different focused subjects in their secondary schools. Some believe that children need to learn more general topics while others think the young should take the more specific matters toward their future careers. In my opinion, I support secondary schools should give children a more career-oriented education. Firstly, today’s students already have a heavy burden on their school’s homework and tests. For example, in junior high school, I had to spend almost all the time after class on my assignments and the next day’s exams, leading me to live a long-standing high-pressure life. Moreover, even though I spent most of my time on textbooks, I still felt the need to attend cram schools after class because I had the urge to keep myself competitive. Therefore, if I could help my future children choose schools’ educational way, either more career-focused or more general lessons, I would opt for the former, reducing the students’ pressure and releasing their time. Secondly, most of the school’s subjects seem useless in society. For instance, many people do jobs different from their major in university; needless to say, fundamental disciplines, such as math, Chinese(mother language), history, and so on, seldom be used by people when they leave school. Thus, we don’t need to spend so much time on those subjects, and are unnecessary to learn so deeply and widely. Furthermore, the time we save from general education could be used to involve our habits, attending extracurricular activities, learning extracurricular skills, or just taking a rest, all of which would make children more diversified and more unique in their life. In conclusion, according to the arguments mentioned above, I am in favor of making children more focused on specific subjects that would be helpful in their future careers, and I think this is the most adaptive to today’s world.