Many feel that happiness is mainly an individual responsibilty while others feel that there are important external factors. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The ideology of happiness is a confusing one. Many debate whether it is one's own responsibility to be in a state of happiness while others disagree and believe that there are external factors that have an important contribution. This essay will discuss both views and why, in my opinion, I agree with both statements.  On the one hand, it is believed that only a person can know what makes them happy. It can be in terms of accumulating money over the years and then eventually spending big on things such as buying your dream car, the jewellery you have always wanted or finally going on that vacation you have been planning, for instance. These are some reasons a person can view this as their way to a path of euphoria. Even so, if that is the case, you can see why it becomes a personal responsibility as it is a result of personal preference. On the other hand, there is a belief that external factors play a bigger role in a person's happiness. This can be a result of family and friend contributions. For example, spending quality time together experiencing new things and making memories like going on a family vacation or spending Christmas together. To elaborate, activities that have an exchange in conversation can be enjoyable for both parties indicating that outside factors provide happiness as well. To conclude, In my opinion, there are reasons why happiness can be down to you or outside factors and so, due to that, I see them as equally important because I believe you can not have one contribution without the other.