There is a problem today that copyrighted material such as music, film and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel this is a good or bad thing?

With the evolution of digital technology, creative resources become easily available over the internet. However, This also poses a threat to digital creators as their effort can easily be copied and shared without their consent. I believe this behaviour is very bad since creators don't get the reward for their hard work. Two arguments in my disagreement are explained in detail below along with the conclusion. Firstly, Illegal copying of original efforts demotivates the creative community. Besides being very time-consuming, the process of building original stuff is very demanding as a result owners feel sick when someone steals their work. For example, a recent study from The University of Southern California shows that 55% of all the authors in the USA feel demotivated by the recent spike in cheating and copying the original data. Therefore, it's paramount to protect their work to ensure a thriving industry. Secondly, Stealing books, movies and other alternative media creates poses large-scale financial losses not only for producers and companies but also for the industry. This financial breakdown wipes out the lives of families that depend on these industries. For instance, My uncle lost all his wealth as a movie distributor the movie "The Batman" got leaked on the internet, a day before the worldwide release since my uncle spent all his money betting on this movie's success. To conclude, Digital media enables us to watch movies, and read books from the comfort of our homes. However, it also opens a door for bad actors to rob the content and creates a negative impact with big losses and demotivated people. A world can only excel when we allow creative people to shine and thrive.