In many countries, there are a lot of students who commit suicide each year. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Recently the phenomenon that has been brought into focus is that a high proportion of the young generation intends to take their own lives annually. Some would concur that losing control over life and bearing high pressure from parents and surrounding communities are held accountable for this problem. To curb the suicide rate, parents and governments could provide a course of action. It is well known that parents interfere too much in their children’s lives and that societies putting too much pressure on children would highly correlate with a high rate of self-destruction. First and foremost, parents may perceive to be more experienced than their children in decision-making processes, which could ignore their children’s arguments in discussions. This action would create a sense of unrespected in their adolescents, triggering the use of misbehaviour as a means of expressing their independence. In addition, societies would impose high pressure on young generations to achieve excellent performance, creating emotional stress and deteriorating behaviour. To illustrate, in South Korea, due to intensive studying to get high scores on university entrance exams, various students are diagnosed with symptoms of mental disorders. It is unchallengeable that misbehaviours and mental exhaustion are the sources of self-destruction. There are several actions that parents and governments could offer to address the described problem. Firstly, parents would involve their children in making decision process. Instead of exercising too much control over their offspring, parents would offer them advice and cooperate with them to achieve goals. For instance, in modern-society models, parents would be encouraged to participate in orientation days with their adolescents to define careers. Moreover, governments can ensure that students have access to independent confidential sources of help. Telephone hotlines set a good example for authorities’ efforts to support younger generations. It seems quite clear that both parents and governments take the course of action simultaneously to prevent suicide. In conclusion, it is vital to acknowledge that over-controlled attitudes from parents and pressures from societies would be the roots of deteriorating behaviours. To decline suicidal tendencies, families and authorities should behave in the best interests of their students.