Some people think that news and media are affecting our life in a positive way while others disagree. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

It seems that in today’s world, different people have opposite opinions on how news and media influence us. From my perspective, I believe nowadays, the way information and media are presented to us has detrimental effects, and I will discuss my thoughts in the following paragraphs. Firstly, day-to-day news and media give us too much information that we cannot digest effectively and discern whether there’s misinformation and if the news sources are reliable. For example, people have various channels to receive information, including mobile phone apps, websites, radio, newspapers, etc. While it is easier and more convenient for us to access news and knowledge, the drawbacks are the difficulty of getting the correct information and focusing on the most important news. Thus, people may feel tired of receiving mass information from various media sources, leading to negligence and indifference toward the world and the country’s affairs. Secondly, much of today’s news focus on unimportant gossip or trivial things, wasting people’s time a lot. For instance, I live in Taiwan, and every day the news in our country is about some unknown people’s sexual life or some celebrities’ private life, which don’t positively impact us. Suppose we can have more significant news, such as climate change or the global economy. In that case, our civilians may pay more attention to the critical issues that must be addressed. Therefore, because the media and news often focus wrongly, we spend too much of our attention on gossiping or unimportant things, causing adverse effects on our minds in the long run. In conclusion, due to the above arguments, I believe today’s media and news adversely influence us, exhaust us, and numb us.