Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people think that in years to come, the number of flights will be reduced. I think this is unfolding in society for two reasons. First, it will be hard to travel overseas and secondly, it will be very expensive. Air travel presents both benefits and drawbacks. One disadvantage is that air transport causes pollution which is harmful to the climate. Planes and other air equipment produce gas emissions which create carbon dioxide harmful to plants and animals. For example, when the rockets fly into space they produce certain pollutants which spread into the air. Therefore, using too much air crafts reduces oxygen and increases carbon dioxide. However, minimising the number of aircraft in the air will cause anxiety to many people worldwide. Travelling by air makes it easier for people to visit family and friends in countries where travelling by road is impossible. To illustrate, people living in some parts of Africa can not visit Australia by road or sea but only by air. Hence, having a reduced number of planes will mean expensive flights and fully booked schedules, consequently, it will be hard for families to meet together. In addition, having a reduction in helicopters, planes or jets will mean driving long hours to get to a different state or country. Instead of arriving there in 2 hours by plane, citizens will be required to take a 9-hour road trip. As a result, most residents will avoid travelling to areas where they can not fly. It is clear that air transport provides benefits to the busy population in general. To sum up, cutting down on air travel is considered as a negative development because of the barriers it creates on people's abilities to immigrate overseas, as well as the long hours of drive to other places.