Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people argue juveniles should be able to keep themselves busy because this situation promotes their cognitive development. Meanwhile, the rest believe that children should have more group interactions in their leisure time because it improves their ability to socialize. This essay agrees with the later statement. On the one hand, letting the children have some time alone with their selves enables them to enhance their imagination. This is because, when they are alone, they will get bored easily and start to explore or find something to play with from their surroundings. During this time, the right side of the brain will be more active and imagine random things as cars or something else. This activity will promote the development of creativity which contributes to their cognitive ability. For example, research has shown that children who spend more time playing alone have higher creativity levels such as creating fiction stories when they are older compared to others. However, kids should have more social time with their peers to accelerate their social capability. On the other hand, it is believed that kids should spend time with their peers through group activities. This is because when children interact with others, they can develop their social skills such as communication. Doing these activities force its members to start a conversation with each other to achieve their goal. For instance, many organizations offer collaborative activities for kids. These events are designed to allow the participants to actively talk and build a relationship with others through some games. Reports have shown that children who have joined these collaborative experiences show faster speech development compared to those who do not participate in these kinds of activities. This essay agrees with this practice because kids will make massive progress in their social skills through these events. In conclusion, although letting juveniles play with themselves is also improving their imaginative skills, joining social interactions serves greater benefit in accelerating their social abilities.