Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that young people should be free enough without assignments after school, while others disagree and insist homework can benefit their academic success. Both sides of the view will be debated in the following essay along with the reason why I believe that after-class work is unnecessary for their growth. It is reasonable to think that homework can improve students' academic performance by helping them remember the knowledge taught in schools. That is because homework is designed according to course materials and children's in-class performance, and thereby, can help them to further memorize important knowledge by repeating similar exercises and revising errors. This repeated practice can not only benefit their academic performance, but also teach them the crucial learning method which can be helpful in whatever career or subject they choose for the future. However, there are also benefits if they are allowed the entire after- school freedom without assignments. One major advantage is that they can do anything they want with enough time. Therefore, this can allow them time to stay with friends or to hang out on the local streets, leading to a valuable childhood and some treasurable memories. In addition, they may use their after- school time to develop their personal interests, which would be their eventual career of them, and benefit their entire life. For example, Chinese people in my parent's generation have no homework after school, and they can spend as much time as they want together with nature and friends. This has become one of the reasons why they feel more satisfied than my generation, according to research. In conclusion, although both sides have their merits, I firmly believe that children should not be given assignments after school, because as a biologist, I spent almost every minute after going back home from school with insects in the neighbour river, and this experience let me realize my great love to creatures and animals, which became the most important reason to choose biology when I was in college.