In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most older people in Britain are living in public homes with similar-aged people where there are health care assistants to take care of them, and also sometimes the government pays for such care. In my opinion, I believe the government might pass some laws to help them, but it is the main responsibility of their own children to take care of them. I will further explain my views in the below essay. Firstly, most older people tend to become more emotional and dependent as they age, and due to,that there will be several problems in their family since they have become more inflexible in adapting to their family. In such situations, although public homes provide various benefits, they would be much better if they stay around their family together. For example, when my grandparents got sick due to covid, they became more vulnerable while staying in hospitals and coped much better when they were given the basic treatment in our homes. Hence, I feel our generation should provide them with the necessary moral support rather than the government taking responsibility for them. Secondly, it is true that some of them might face financial issues, and in that case, the government can implement certain pension schemes. But, apart from the financial benefits, most of them feel isolated when staying in homages. Their health practices and living conditions are also much better when they stay in their own homes around clean and secure environments. For example, a lot of people get sicker when they move to public homes because they find it difficult to adapt to shared accommodations, and they come with a lot of problems. In conclusion, although government should partially share the financial responsibilities, it is the primary responsibility of a family to take care of their own grandparents. Older people are also valuable to a country as they carry cultural values,and can teach the younger generation a lot of educational and moral information. Hence, it is vital to protect our elder generation equally.