It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Due to,globalization it is becoming more difficult for small businesses, like shops, to compete with big companies and online retailers. As a result, streets lose their identity and look the same in different towns. In addition, big chain stores are more depersonalised in their attitude to customers. However, there are still measures to be taken to combat this problem. They will be discussed in this essay in more detail. Big chain stores normally have a standard design for all their departments, which does not consider features of local architecture. Hence, in every town, they look the same. This negatively affects tourism and, consequently, the local economy. Alongside this, large supermarkets have depersonalised customer service. Or even more, they might have self-service cash machines instead of sellers, which reduces the number of jobs created for those who live in that area. Although, a few clients, especially the elderly, still would prefer to speak to a shopman and ask for advice. In order to prevent the aforementioned issues,actions should be taken by the government to support small businesses. This might be done by implementing tax reductions for small shops. As a result, they would be able to make a profit, pay salaries and create jobs for the local community. Additionally,there might be restrictions established for big companies, which would not allow them to push small ones out of the market. In the long term,future this might result in a fair coexistence for both of them. To sum up all of the above, competition between small and large businesses might be unfair for the first one, which might have negative consequences for the local community. However, if the government will support small businesses through tax reductions or by restrictions for big chain stores, they would be able not only to exist but also benefit the economy and people in that area.