In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kid of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many countries around the globe deal with the rapidly growing prevalence of health issues directly linked to poor dietary choices. Some of them have opted to impose heavy taxes upon fast food chains as a way to dissuade the general consumer from buying it. I firmly believe that this is a good approach to the problem and that could result in a slow decrease in obesity rates among the countries that have followed this initiative. It is open to discussion whether it is entirely our personal responsibility the consume these products that later on might generate repercussions in our bodies. What is not debatable for me though, is the mere fact that having easy access to this sort of food turns out to be a key factor for the rise of diseases related to junk food. Had McDonald's' prices not been affordable for the average person, It would have prevented them from including a double cheeseburger in their daily menu and consequently would have resulted in replacing it with more healthy alternatives that in turn represent less severe damage to their pockets, as it is now not doable to maintain this style of living. That is to say, our habits are dictated by our personal economic contexts. Additionally, rewarding companies with subsidies for offering a more economically sustainable diet low in carbs that at the same represents an alternative to fast food is a must in today's society. This is the path that countries that implement tax over processed food should follow as it is a palliative measure against retractors that advocate for not sanctioning brands that promote unhealthy diets. In other words, favouring the prevalence of nourishing food that replaces the void left by high carbs is a way to reduce the cardiovascular disease index as it is imperative that our dietary choices are based, most of the time, on economic reasons. To conclude, I strongly believe that the legislation of taxes upon fast food chains is the right path towards a better future for the new generations