Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant experience from your own experience. Write at least 250 words.

Architecture plays an important role in development of a city. Not surprisingly, there are a lot of debates about whether old buildings should be replaced with modern ones or, on the contrary, protected. I am inclined to support the second viewpoint since old architecture attracts tourists. However, both views will be discussed in this essay. Due to fast urbanization within the last few decades, the need for new houses and offices has increased significantly. Here modern architecture offers a number of solutions with its skyscrapers or small, but multifunctional constructions. However, these new buildings might make streets look homogenised. Moreover, in order to build them historical buildings might need to be demolished, which might put tourists off from visiting such places. On the other hand, if old cottages, houses and towers will be protected and restored, this would attract people from all over the world to visit them and enjoy the atmosphere of the era they were built in. As a result, the local economy will flourish. For example, the number of tourists visiting the old city of Rome every year illustrates that tourists always prefer places with a long history to new ones. To sum up all of the above, although modern architecture offers a solution to the lack of space problem in megapolises, preserving old buildings is more likely to save and develop tourism. From my point of view, tourism is one of the integral parts of economic prosperity. Thus, I agree with the second opinion and I think local authorities should follow this strategy.