There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Extracurricular activities play a vital role in the overall development of the child. In the contemporary era, teenagers are facing so much burden to get good scores in major subjects. Therefore, a few individuals opine that minor subjects must be eliminated from the school which allows students to pay more focus on their studies. I completely disagree with the above notion. To commence with, if non-academic modules are terminated from schools, children‘s physical fitness can be affected. To elaborate, youngsters are tired when they reach home after school as they spend most of their time studying and they do not have sufficient energy to play. As well as they want to relax. Due to the aforementioned reasons, schools must have subjects such as physical education to keep trainees fit and healthy. Otherwise, they will suffer from multifarious hazardous diseases such as obesity, heart attack, low eyesight as well as back pain. Further strengthening the views, students will not be able to concentrate on their studies properly. By continuously studying the same books without any other activities, pupils can feasibly get bored which ultimately declines their percentage in their studies. Besides, they will embark on losing interest in education after some interval. For instance, a survey conducted by Cambridge University in 2019 in the USA stated that 99% of children who scored excellent marks in exams which have done outdoor activities along with their studies. Therefore, pursuing enjoyable activities is essential for mental health. In conclusion, activities such as playing games, dancing, and cooking must be performed by every individual for remaining healthy. Moreover, it assists students to stay focussed on their education which will lead them to become a potential candidate with good mental well-being. Although the main subjects are most important to individuals, extracurricular activities cannot be ignored.