Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Tourism has become a popular global leisure activity over the past few decades, especially in developing countries. Although this trend can potentially cause some negative environmental impacts, it is offering a myriad of benefits to these nations and their people. Growing tourism can be beneficial to countries in many different ways. First, local residents and businesses are able to benefit from the income opportunities arising from tourism. In fact, most residents in such cities as Phu Quoc, Vietnam, are working in the tourism industry and are dependent on the traffic of visitors coming there. Second, it makes a significant contribution to the economy of a nation because it can generate income all year long. For instance, tourism accounts for around 40% of the national economy in Maldives, ensuring economic security and stability every year. The trend also has positive impacts on cultural preservation and promotes better understanding among humans. Historical sites and beautiful scenery are usually the main draw for tourists visiting a country, and therefore protecting these sites becomes the government's top priority. For example, stricter laws can be put in place to prevent property damage or vandalism in order to safeguard these locations. In addition, tourism has the special ability to bring together people from various nations, cultures, backgrounds and traditions. In fact, it develops mutual understanding and unification among individuals, which may have long-lasting social effects. In conclusion, the trend benefits countries and local people in a number of ways. I believe it can help ensure sustainable growth for both nations and certain individuals.