Many cities are now turning parks and farmland into new housing developments. Is this a positive or negative development?

In many areas, fields and public parks are replaced by accommodation buildings. Although this issue might cause a polluted environment, it can solve the problem of housing shortage in crowded cities. Those who argue this policy is negative point out its bad effects on the environment. This is because the introduction of new buildings exacerbates a huge amount of emissions, leading to pollution in the air. Furthermore, having more housing developments means having more migrated residents to these big cities simultaneously. As a result, the daily activities of citizens also contribute to bad effects on the environment such as higher electric consumption. For example, since Da Lat City in Vietnam has become more well-known and has more construction sites, the temperature of the city has increased 5 Celsius degrees compared to 10 years ago. Despite this, I would argue that these buildings can help people when it comes to accommodation. Removing farmland and parks and constructing new dwelling developments can answer the question of lacking houses in many crowded cities. Because of the development of big cities, people have an inclination to migrate and settle in these areas, causing a shortage of living blocks. Therefore, the demand for new houses has been more urgent than ever. For instance, when one-hectare farming field makes way for housing buildings, it can solve the housing problems for more than 2000 people in a rather large city. In conclusion, knocking down parks and fields and then creating new housing developments can make the environment become even worse. However, this policy brings viable solutions for people in terms of lacking houses in many crowded places.