Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites have become increasingly popular and some individuals believe that they have had a bad effect on society. In my opinion they have had a positive impact and play a pivotal role in our lives today. To begin with, social networking has completely changed the way we connect with other people. In the past, having a simple conversation would take days, if not weeks. Today, for example, a message through Facebook would take seconds to send. Therefore it is more efficient and less time consuming, making communication far more effective. It also allows us to have multiple conversations simultaneously. There are some people who believe that it has taken over our lives and that the average person spends way too much time on social networking. Being in front of a screen for hours on end can definitely have a negative impact on one’s physical and mental health. However like with anything in life, having self-control and setting boundaries is part of using social networking. Therefore, in my opinion, it would be irrational to remove a useful application because a small percentage of users misuse it. In conclusion, social networking is definitely a beneficial addition to society and I believe that it should be part of everyone’s day to day life. There is no doubt that it can be abused by certain individuals, but this shouldn’t be a concern for the majority of the population. As technology advances, it will become more apparent on how useful social networking is on a global scale.