Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The arrival of the internet revolutionised the means we use to stay in touch. This technological breakthrough has shortened distances between people, now it is much easier to communicate than before. For that reason, many believe that social media have had a wonderful impact on society. However, others believe that, because of them, many people have turned their backs on the real world and live their lives on the web. Nevertheless, in my opinion, despite the negative effects, they are very useful, when used properly. In this essay, we will weigh both arguments and provide examples to provide a conclusion. On the one side, three decades ago, the thought of being able to chat in real-time with someone living across the globe was unimaginable. Every day, the average human does things that were thought to be impossible. For instance, libraries and encyclopedias have turned out to be almost useless due to the fact that, now, all the information is online. Therefore, the fact that the internet has brought incredible developments is undeniable. On the other hand, many people have lost interest in the real world. They have been abducted into a virtual reality that is more appealing than their difficult lives. This can easily be seen with numerous mental health reports, published every year, that show that this has turned out to be a great problem. Teenagers, for example, have a trend to submerge into social media instead of resolving their issues at school. Then, the notion of these being a great source of negative inputs is true. In conclusion, the evidence presented suggests that social media mean both positive and negative impacts on society. They have made it possible to stay in touch with our loved ones, but, at the same time, have created a fake reality that many find to be more appealing than the real world. However, from my perspective, if used correctly, they are a great tool to share the joys of your life with your people, no matter where they are.