young people who commit crimes should be punished in the same way as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that juvenile delinquents should be punished as adult ones. In my opinion, it is unethical because young people are prone to making mistakes. However, I am also convinced that young criminals should be judged at the same level as adult ones if they commit major offenses. Moreover, they definitely must be punished in a more ruthless way in case of recidivism. Firstly, juvenile delinquents are punished differently because of their age. Therefore, it is implied that they tend to make mistakes and should not be judged as adult offenders because sometimes they are influenced by somebody or do not have other choice. It is taken into a consideration that adolescents who committed a crime were probably forced to do so under pressure and because of hard conditions. For example, education deficiency or poverty might be the reasons why underage criminals participate in crime scenes. Some juvenile offenders might confess that they rob because they are hungry and their parents can not provide food. Thus, these hard conditions stay beyond the responsibility of the young people, and they can not be judged for crimes in the way that adults are judged. Nevertheless, such offences as murder or rape should imply ruthless consequences. I believe so because if they take somebody's life, they should face strict repercussions since regardless of the age, the criminal usually understands what he does. Therefore, there is no space for mercy for such a dangerous participant in society. The same principle is applied to the recidivists. Juvenile offenders who were sentenced previously and committed crimes again should be punished on another level. It is better for society to keep away such hazardous participants, and punish them in a more rigorous way because they already had a chance to fix themselves previously. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that young criminals are prone to making errors and correspondingly receive lower sentences, it is better to judge them strictly in the cases of major crimes such as murder, rape or recidivism.