Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider the main responsibility of parents to be to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the dispute between child-rearing approaches is singled out as a concern preoccupying the populace. It is irrefutable that parental involvement is indispensable for a child's either mental or physical well-being, however, I oppose the conservative viewpoint which encourages parental over-manipulation. Certainly, lenient parents are attributed to the outlook that juvenile delinquency runs rampant when family mindsets are the cornerstones of a child's cognitive development. Had it not been for the idea that parents are to be held accountable for rectifying their children's improper deeds, and applying appropriate measures to adjust them, their offspring would have been left with a legacy of moral decay, which is conducive to social decadence. For instance, children who are born in slums, where are vulnerable to insufficient parental care and education as well, have a higher chance to commit crime than their other counterparts. However, not only does parental interference may intrude on children's all-around development but traditional reasonings belonging to them also become obsolete by ceaseless technological advancement. It is learning autonomy and secure surroundings that parents are required to prioritize when they bring up a child. As smartphones are fully equipped with search engines, children can access a pool of information in the palm of their hand. By that, parents should merely take steps to define whether their content is healthy or not. There are compelling rationales behind parents ' fixating to keep children under control, but spoon-feeding and overdirecting will shackle children from their freedom of choice. Given that parental consent is of paramount importance, parental involvement should not serve as a psychological buffer that hampers children from standing on their own feet. In conclusion, parents have a pivotal role in averting children the domain prospect of criminal activities, however, they should leave more space for children's personal development. As child-rearing is instrumental to children's later life, especially in formative years, we need to be more meticulous about their method.