More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a serious health concern in many countries. While many people believe that increase in the price of fatty foods can help to tackle this problem, I believe, that other ways such as subsidising healthy food options can also be employed. In my opinion, a combination of these two is the best way forward. It is true that the rise in the cost of junk food can help to reduce the problem of overweight. For instance, the sugar tax imposed in UK did have some positive benefits. However, companies reacted to this by reducing the sugar content just below the taxed slab which made more and more people buy this slightiest healthier version, without actually serving the purpose. In addition, this practise may look more of a punishment for those who are financially limited and cannot move to higher priced goods. Instead of inflating prices, reducing the prices of healthy foods can be more attractive choice in handling the concern of obesity. Also, it does not serve as a penalty and can complement the rise in calorie foods. Furthermore, when the nutritious dietary options are available at reduced price, people will definitely take advantage and will improve their overall health. For instance, the rate of fruits and vegetables can be provided at subsidised rates to encourage good eating habits. To conclude, I agree that charging higher prices for oily food can help to check the increasing weight in people but only if it is complemented with the similar decrease in price of healthier versions of food items.