Some people think that the government should be responsible for improving public health. Others, however, believe that everyone in the community should take part in this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There can be no doubt that the topic of health is one which deserves some consideration. It is the view of this writer that the evidence is on the side of those who believe public health is the government's responsibility, despite some reservations. Those who champion the authorities being in charge of citizens' health point to the fact that medical bills should be free. This is due to the fact that not everyone is able to afford detailed medical scans and frequent check-ups. As a result, the poor suffer from illnesses, yet, cannot go to the hospital because they lack money. One should also note that this presents a fair society where the general public is treated equally. There is a different point of view which holds that maintaining personal health is one's responsibility because individuals are in control of their health. As should be self-evident, everyone is free to choose their lifestyles including what they eat and what they do. For this reason, health is closely linked to people's behaviours. This can also be attributed to past health records which citizens are in full charge of, because of this, only they know what they need. This writer supports the former on the grounds that prioritising development of medical technology greatly benefits society's general health. It is beyond a doubt that with the advent of computers, the government has full access to previous medical check-ups. A clear-cut example of this would be patients who suffer from memory loss, they are unable to recall previous actions let alone remember to go back to the hospital. Furthermore, one should acknowledge that the majority of patients are elderly who also happen to have problems with remembering and recalling. Thus it can be seen that individuals' responsibility is outweighed by developing technologies and free medical bills. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that government should be responsible for citizens' health.